|
|
Rentacoder.ca Review (Updated 02/05/2012)
|
Rentacoder.ca (www.rentacoder.ca) Rating: 1
Address and Phone Number (NONE)
Description
Like Rent-acoder.com, Rentacoder.Ca is a “service” that employs typosquatting and URL high jacking as a means of duping outsourcers into thinking it’s the original and official Rentacoder.com. It even stole RentACoder’s original slogan, “How Software Gets Done,” and changed it to “How Coding Gets Done.”
 Click image above to see a larger view and a comparison.
 |
The owner of rentacoder.ca, a supposed “Paul White,” additionally owns multiple, typosquatting domains that exploit the RentACoder name, including rentacoder.me, rentacoder.biz, rentacoder.co, and rentacoder.in. |
The “service” additionally uses a familiar and copied job board script as its interface. (UPDATE 02/05/2012: This site’s interface has changed to a point where it’s almost impossible to discern its purpose.) For those reasons alone, it’s not to be trusted. You may, therefore, skip the information below if you like, as it predictably earned a bad rating from us.
Click our review standards for an explanation of ranking criteria and other related information. Email the administrator to update old information or to make a correction.
Review Results
| Contact Information |      |
|---|
| ***UPDATE 02/05/2012***: Rentacoder.ca does not publicize adequate contact information such as a physical address and a phone number. Its main channel of communication occurs through a contact form and email address only. | | | Fees and Payments |      |
|---|
| Rentacoder.ca does not charge its outsourcers a service fee. It does, however, charge a fee for a featured listing and a fulltime project (whatever that means... the service neglects to define what a fulltime project is, and how it's different from any other type of project available through the site). It appears to accept all major credit cards via Paypal, however, it doesn't facilitate payments or provide escrowing. What it offers instead, unfortunately, is a nonsensical terms of service that was obviously merged with Paypal's terms of service. And, of course, the site doesn't provide a money back guarantee. | | | Consumer Security |      |
|---|
| Rentacoder.ca does not work through a secured server, nor is it declared 'Norton Safe'. As expected, it is not accredited at the Better Business Bureau. | | | Full Disclosure |      |
|---|
| Rentacoder.ca's full Terms of Service is open to the public. ***UPDATE 02/05/2012***: Its FAQ is available, but incomplete and nonsensical. Its Privacy Policy also exists, but is too sparse to mean anything. | | | Buzz Factor |      |
|---|
| Onsite, Rentacoder.ca provides a ratings/feedback system. Offsite, the service is unknown, with 1 external website linking back to its own. See the Presence category for more. | | | Support |      |
|---|
| Rentacoder.ca provides support via an email address and contact form only. It does not offer an extensive help section. | | | Presence |      |
|---|
| ***UPDATED 02/05/2015***: At the time of its review, Rentacoder.ca, ranked 9,649,565 by Alexa, provides access to an unknown number of contractors. It does not maintain a company presence on Twitter, LinkedIn, Facebook, or Wikipedia. It has also failed to release any significant press releases. |
Compare to:
Additional Comments
Don’t even bother with this one. Current events can be found in our Rentacoder.ca News section.
Important Links
 Loading ...
|
|
Goodie Bag (Related Content)
|
One More ThingHave you visited our Welcome page? There’s a short survey on that page that’s designed to help enrich the content currently offered, and improve your user experience as well. Please take a quick moment to complete it. Your participation is appreciated!
Cite this page APA style: . (). On Just Outsourcing by Nicole Miller, Service Provider. Retrieved from , Sacramento,CA. Last modified: 04/05/2013 Nicole Miller is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
Comments
NOTE: All comments, including @twitter seeds, are moderated. Comments that (1) use keywords or urls as names in the name field, (2) point to a spammy website, (3) use abusive language, or (4) are posted for SEO purposes only, are immediately rejected. [Back to Top]
Leave a Reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.
|
|